### MINUTES OF T. P. RURAL FIRE PROTECTION DISTRICT NO. 2

January 25, 2021

The Commissioners of T. P. Rural Fire Protection District No. 2 met in regular session on Monday, January 25, 2021 immediately following the meeting of the Tangipahoa Parish Council at the Tangipahoa Parish Gordon A. Burgess Governmental Building at 206 East Mulberry Street, Amite, Louisiana and was called to order by David Vial, President.

The following members were present:

Trent Forrest, John Ingraffia, Louis Joseph, Carlo S. Bruno, Buddy Ridgel, Joey Mayeaux, Lionell Wells, David Vial, and Brigette Hyde

Absent: Kim Coates

Mr. Vial asked for a moment of silence in memory of Chief Bruce Cutrer.

<u>PUBLIC INPUT</u> — Anyone Wishing to Address Any Agenda Item — No one from the public asked to address any agenda item.

<u>ADOPTION OF MINUTES</u>- A motion was made by Mr. Joseph and seconded by Mrs. Hyde to adopt the minutes special meeting dated December 28, 2020. Roll call vote was as follows:

Yeas: 9 (Forrest, Ingraffia, Joseph, Bruno, Ridgel, Mayeaux, Wells, Vial, Hyde)

Nays: None Absent: 1 (Coates) Not Voting: None

1. Election of Officers 2021-

a) President- A motion was made by Mr. Wells and seconded by Mr. Ridgel to open nominations and appoint Mrs. Coates as President.

A substitute motion was made by Mr. Bruno to nominate Mr. Louis Joseph

A motion was made by Mr. Forrest to close nominations.

Roll call vote for the substitute motion to nominate Mr. Joseph was as follows:

Yeas: 5 (Forrest, Ingraffia, Joseph, Bruno, Vial)

Nays: 4 (Ridgel, Mayeaux, Wells, Hyde)

Absent: 1 (Coates) Not Voting: None

Motion was made by Mr. Wells and seconded by Mrs. Hyde to table the nomination of officers due to Mrs. Coates'

absence. Roll call vote was as follows: Yeas: 4 (Ridgel, Mayeaux, Wells, Hyde)

Nays: 5 (Forrest, Ingraffia, Joseph, Bruno, Vial)

Absent: 1 (Coates) Not Voting: None \*Motion failed

b) Vice President- A motion was made by Mr. Mayeaux and seconded by Mr. Bruno to open nominations and appoint Mrs. Coates as Vice President.

A motion was made by Mr. Forrest to close nominations. Roll call vote was as follows:

Yeas: 9 (Forrest, Ingraffia, Joseph, Bruno, Ridgel, Mayeaux, Wells, Vial, Hyde)

Nays: None Absent: 1 (Coates) Not Voting: None

c) Secretary- A motion was made by Mr. Wells and seconded by Mr. Mayeaux to open nominations and appoint Ms. Kristen Pecararo as Secretary.

A motion was made by Mr. Forrest to close nominations. Roll call vote was as follows:

Yeas: 9 (Forrest, Ingraffia, Joseph, Bruno, Ridgel, Mayeaux, Wells, Vial, Hyde)

Nays: None Absent: 1 (Coates) Not Voting: None

d) Treasurer- A motion was made by Mr. Wells and seconded by Mrs. Hyde to open nominations and appoint Mrs. Virginia Baker as Treasurer.

A motion was made by Mr. Mayeaux to close nominations. Roll call vote was as follows:

Yeas: 9 (Forrest, Ingraffia, Joseph, Bruno, Ridgel, Mayeaux, Wells, Vial, Hyde)

Nays: None Absent: 1 (Coates) Not Voting: None

## **HAMMOND FIRE MATTERS**

2. Ratification of Part Time Position- Motion was made by Mr. Mayeaux and seconded by Mr. Vial to ratify the approval of a part time position at \$10/hour. Roll call vote was as follows:

Yeas: 9 (Forrest, Ingraffia, Joseph, Bruno, Ridgel, Mayeaux, Wells, Vial, Hyde)

Nays: None Absent: 1 (Coates) Not Voting: None

### **LORANGER FIRE MATTERS**

3. Ratification of Approval of a Full Time Position- Motion was made by Mr. Ingraffia and seconded by Mr. Vial to ratify the approval of a full-time position at \$8/hour. Roll call vote was as follows:

Yeas: 9 (Forrest, Ingraffia, Joseph, Bruno, Ridgel, Mayeaux, Wells, Vial, Hyde)

Nays: None Absent: 1 (Coates) Not Voting: None

### **NATALBANY FIRE MATTERS**

4. Ratification of Approval of Chief's Position- Motion was made by Mr. Ridgel and seconded by Mr. Bruno to ratify the approval of Mr. Donald Scafidel as Chief part time at \$30,000/ year. Roll call vote was as follows:

Yeas: 9 (Forrest, Ingraffia, Joseph, Bruno, Ridgel, Mayeaux, Wells, Vial, Hyde)

Nays: None Absent: 1 (Coates) Not Voting: None

## **EIGHTH WARD FIRE MATTERS**

5. Ratification of Approval of Pay Increases- Motion was made by Mr. Vial and seconded by Mr. Mayeaux to ratify the approval of 3% across the board increases for 11 Eighth Ward personnel as presented. Roll call vote was as follows:

Yeas: 9 (Forrest, Ingraffia, Joseph, Bruno, Ridgel, Mayeaux, Wells, Vial, Hyde)

Nays: None Absent: 1 (Coates) Not Voting: None

# MONTHLY REPORTS AND REGISTERS- Presented

# **ADMINISTRATORS REPORT**

- Mr. Crocker and the Tangipahoa Parish Rural Fire Protection District No. 2 Board of Commissioners recognized Chief Frank Gerarve of Natalbany Fire Department and Mr. Robert Morel of the Loranger Fire Department for their retirement and thanked them both for their many years of service.
- 6. Adoption of a resolution to adopt the 2020 Louisiana Compliance Questionnaire required for the regular annual audit for 2020- Motion made by Mr. Vial and seconded by Mr. Mayeaux to adopt the foregoing resolution. Roll call vote was as follows:

Yeas: 9 (Forrest, Ingraffia, Joseph, Bruno, Ridgel, Mayeaux, Wells, Vial, Hyde)

Nays: None Absent: 1 (Coates) Not Voting: None

Mr. Crocker announced that Chief Polito was appointed President of the Tangipahoa Parish Fire Chief's Association.

Motion made by Mr. Vial and seconded by Mr. Forrest to accept the administrators report. Roll call vote was as

follows:

Yeas: 9 (Forrest, Ingraffia, Joseph, Bruno, Ridgel, Mayeaux, Wells, Vial, Hyde)

Nays: None

Absent: 1 (Coates) Not Voting: None

<u>OTHER FIRE MATTERS</u>- Mr. Crocker reminded everyone about Chief Cutrer's services. Mr. Crocker also asked everyone to keep TPSO's Mr. Heath Martin in your prayers.

# <u>ADJOURN</u>

With no other business appearing, on motion by Mr. Bruno and seconded by Mr. Vial, the Tangipahoa Parish Rural Fire District No. 2 adjourned.

ATTEST:

S/Kristen Pecararo, Secretary T. P. Rural Fire District No. 2 S/David P. Vial, President T. P. Rural Fire District No. 2